It’s been a month

Sorry, I haven’t kept this up to date but the marathon week is here. I had a calf injury impact my final month of prep so I missed a couple of long runs. This has made me a little nervous. The upside is that I am little more rested and have fresh legs. Still dealing with a nagging heel issue but not enough to knock me out of the race. I am in the final phase of carb loading and getting excited about heading Champaign on Friday. The race starts at 8:00 am and the weather is supposed to be in the 40’s heading to 6o, perfect running weather.

It’s also Easter weekend, so as I run I have joy of celebrating Easter. Running is of some value but serving Jesus is of great value. This marathon training has taught me many lessons but most importantly it has given me a renewed appreciation for discipline and obedience. To be a good runner you have to have discipline to get in all your workouts and eat right. It takes an obedient spirit to follow the routine that has been laid out before you. Following Jesus is no different. It takes discipline to live the life that Jesus sacrificed himself for and he demonstrate our love for him by our obedience.

I’m excited about running on Saturday but even more excited about celebrating Easter with family and friends. If you don’t have a place to celebrate Easter on Sunday, come join me and my family at http://www.deltachurch.net.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

