Finishing Well

The marathon is within site, I have about 4 weeks of training left and I am doing ok. Last week was pretty rough due to life. I wasn’t able to run throughout the week and that was really frustrating. I have a habit of starting things but not completing them well. All you have to do is come to my house or office and see the stacks of books that have a bookmark somewhere inside the book. So I was thinking here we go again, but I got my long run in last and this week I am back on track. I also have gained a few extra pounds from not running and continuing to eat as if I was running so I need to work hard to get rid of them.
On Monday I took the day off of work to hang out with two guys from our church. Actually it was the other elders and we spent the day dreaming, praying and planning together. It was a great day and out of that experience God showed me a verse in the Bible that I am hanging onto for the rest of my training time. It says this: But I do not account my life of any value nor as precious to myself, if only I may finish my course and the ministry that I received from the Lord Jesus, to testify to the gospel of the grace of God. It’s from Acts 20:24

I want to finish well. It is easy to start something but finishing well is tough. It requires sacrifice, focus and discipline. This week at work we talked about keeping our focusing and being disciplined. It was a good lesson and reminder to me to stay within the boundaries that are set to keep me heading in the right direction. To not get sidetracked with other things or to forget why I am headed in the direction that I need to be going.
Whether it’s a preparing for the marathon or running the race of life, I want to keep my focus and to live a life marked by discipline. I hope this challenges you as you run this race we call life.

From the Back
Charles

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

