Another Step Closer

I’m two weeks out from my first half marathon. I am a little nervous but also excited. This is the most preparation I have put in for a race. It required a lot more discipline and I was really glad to have some new friends to run with.
This experience has also given me a new appreciation for my church as well. A couple of weeks ago we took some time to share what God has been doing in our lives this year and it was cool to see how He was worked. It is a lot of fun to see new friendships formed and people stepping out to take care of one another but also to catch a vision for what a group of people can do when Christ is at the center.
I am really excited about my race season this year and the new friends I am making along the way. But I’m even more excited about what God has in store for me as we journey together. This guy from the Bible, Paul, he wrote a letter to some friends in the city of Corinth, shared this advice: Do you not know that the runners in a stadium all race, but only one receives the prize? Run in such a way that you may win. Now everyone who competes exercises self-control in everything. However, they do it to receive a perishable crown, but we an imperishable one. Therefore I do not run like one who runs aimlessly, or box like one who beats the air. Instead, I discipline my body and bring it under strict control, so that after preaching to others, I myself will not be disqualified.
I am that guy who is running for the prize (usually a t-shirt that I already paid for) but I am really running for that prize that doesn’t wear out.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

