Long Run Saturday

Today I made it through another long run (11 miles). I woke up late so I was scrambling to get there on time. I missed going out with the group that was probably my pace group. The faster group took off and left me pretty quickly so thankfully I had written out directions the night before. It was an interesting route that took me past some key sites in Springfield. I started in Washington park and ran north with a loop through the memorial cemetery. It was a very hilly section but gave me another reminder of all the sacrifice that has gone before me. Lincoln’s tomb and the War Memorials make a run more then a run, I don’t know how you can run through a place like that and not reflect. It gave me a chance to think about my own life and I hope that as people look back on it someday they will see a life lived well for Christ.

The other part of the run that was significant was having another runner (Frank) come back and join me as I finished. I needed to have a little encouragement to finish and Frank helped bring me in. That’s what makes running more fun for me. Having people like Frank who will come along side and help you finish.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

